Hugo Award
for Best Novel


I've read most of these through out the years.  I have to say I don't always agree with what wins but film buffs would say the same thing about the academy awards


2006 Spin by Robert Charles Wilson
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
2004  Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
2003  Hominids by Robert J. Sawyer
2002  American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2001  Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
2000  A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge
1999   To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
1998  Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997  Blue Mars, by Kim Stanley Robinson
1996  The Diamond Age, by Neal Stephenson
1995  Mirror Dance, by Lois McMaster Bujold
1994  Green Mars, by Kim Stanley Robinson
1993  A Fire Upon the Deep, by Vernor Vinge
          Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis
1992  Barrayar, by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991  The Vor Game, by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990  Hyperion, by Dan Simmons
1989  Cyteen, by C. J. Cherryh
1988  The Uplift War, by David Brin
1987  Speaker for the Dead, by Orson Scott Card
1986  Ender's Game, by Orson Scott Card
1985  Neuromancer, by William Gibson
1984  Startide Rising, by David Brin
1983  Foundation's Edge, by Isaac Asimov
1982  Downbelow Station, by C. J. Cherryh
1981  The Snow Queen, by Joan D. Vinge
1980  The Fountains of Paradise, by Arthur C. Clarke
1979  Dreamsnake, by Vonda McIntyre
1978  Gateway, by Frederik Pohl
1977  Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang, by Kate Wilhelm
1976  The Forever War, by Joe Haldeman
1975  The Dispossessed, by Ursula K. Le Guin
1974  Rendezvous with Rama, by Arthur C. Clarke
1973  The Gods Themselves, by Isaac Asimov
1972  To Your Scattered Bodies Go, by Philip Jose Farmer
1971  Ringworld, by Larry Niven
1970  The Left Hand of Darkness, by Ursula K. Le Guin
1969  Stand on Zanzibar, by John Brunner
1968  Lord of Light, by Roger Zelazny
1967  The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, by Robert A. Heinlein
1966  ...And Call Me Conrad, by Roger Zelazny
           Dune, by Frank Herbert
1965  The Wanderer, by Fritz Leiber
1964  Way Station, by Clifford D. Simak
1963  The Man in the High Castle, by Philip K. Dick
1962  Stranger in a Strange Land, by Robert A. Heinlein
1961  A Canticle for Leibowitz, by Walter M. Miller
1960  Starship Troopers, by Robert A. Heinlein
1959  A Case of Conscience, by James Blish
1958  The Big Time, by Fritz Leiber
1957  No Award
1956  Double Star, by Robert A. Heinlein
1955  They'd Rather Be Right, by Mark Clifton (currently sold as The Forever Machine)
1954  Farenheit 451
by Ray Bradbury (retro award)
1953  The Demolished Man, by Alfred Bester

1951  Farmer in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein (done retroactively)